Wrestlers Win Fifth Consecutive State Title

Whitfield’s varsity wrestling team won the MSHSAA Class 3 state tournament on March 12, 2021. This is the Warriors fifth consecutive state title, the first in its new Class 3 classification and its 10th state title in the last 14 seasons. The Warriors crowned five individual state champions and finished with 182 team points. Evan Binder ’22 (43-0) and KJ Miley ’22 (31-0) completed perfect seasons.

Individual Champions
Porter Matecki ’24 (106)
AJ Rallo ’23 (113)
Evan Binder ’22 (120)
Gavin Linsman ’24 (126)
KJ Miley ’22 (220)

State Medalists
Chase Brock ’22 (182): 2nd place
Reese Callahan ’22 (170): 4th place
Logan Ferrero ’21 (145): 5th place
Kobe Raeman ’21 (138): 6th place

Alex Tischler ’21 (285) and PJ Schulte ’21 (160) scored points to contribute to the Warriors championship team score.  Click here for individual match results.

Whitfield’s wrestling team moved up from Class 1 to Class 3 as a result of the new championship factor that is being applied to non-public and charter schools for the first time this school year by the Missouri State High School Activities Association rule. It is based on an athletic program’s success over the last six years, with points accumulated for district championships and state finishes.