2022 Class 3 state champion Whitfield wrestling team
Whitfield wrestler pins an opponent during a match
2 students in a wrestling match at a top private high school in Missouri
Wrestler with his arm raised in victory after winning a match
Whitfield wrestler during a match
Whitfield wrestler drives an opponent to the mat during a match
2 students in a wrestling match at a private high school in St. Louis
2021 Whitfield varsity wrestling Class 3 state championship team photo

Whitfield's wrestling program is one of the school's most highly regarded and winningest athletic programs. Individual athletes, coaches, and teams have enjoyed huge success since the program's inception. Many Whitfield wrestlers have gone on to wrestle at the collegiate level and beyond. Scroll down to read about the Whitfield Wrestling winning tradition.  

2022-2023 Varsity Wrestling

2023 varsity wrestling team


2021-2022 Season

Whitfield's varsity wrestling team won the 2022 MSHSAA Class 3 Wrestling Championship held February 17-19 at Mizzou Arena. The Warriors finished with 181.5 points. Hillsboro placed second with 125 points. This is Whitfield's second consecutive Class 3 team title, the sixth straight state championship, and 11th championship in the program’s history. 

This championship moves Whitfield's wrestling program into fourth place in all-time Missouri high school wrestling championships standings and second in the number of consecutive championships (since 1931). The Warriors are first in both categories since the program’s inception. In fact, no program since 1961 has achieved 11 state championships and six consecutive championships.

State Medalists
Yashua Amen '25 (113): 4th place
Porter Matecki '24 (120): State Champion
AJ Rallo '23 (126): State Champion
Evan Binder '22 (132): State Champion
Gavin Linsman '24 (138): State Champion
Reese Callahan '22 (170): 4th place
Chase Brock '22 (182): 2nd place
KJ Miley '22 (285): State Champion

Caleb Carter ‘25 and Rome Tate ‘25 also scored points for the Warriors.

Additional highlights include:

  • Evan Binder ’22 became Whitfield's third four-time state champion and Missouri's 36th four-time state champion
  • Chase Brock ’22 finished his Whitfield career as a four-time state finalist, one of only six in Whitfield wrestling history

  • AJ Rallo ’23 avenged a late January loss against Jackson Tucker from Hillsboro (second place team) to win his third state championship

  • KJ Miley ‘22 endured what one doctor claimed to be a season-ending knee injury at the Geary Invitational in January, but returned to compete and win his second state championship

  • Caiden Gagliano ’22 suffered a complete ACL tear in early December, but returned to compete and win his second district title and compete at his second state championship

  • Freshman phenom Yashua Amen ’25 bumped up from 106 to 113 to earn his first state medal

Post Season Honors
St. Louis Post-Dispatch All-Metro
1st TEAM: Evan Binder '22, Porter Matecki '24, KJ Miley '22, AJ Rallo '23
2nd TEAM: Gavin Linsman '24
3rd TEAM: Chase Brock '22

Missouri Wrestling Coaches Association
Academic All State: Yashua Amen '25 
Class 3, District 2 Wrestler of the Year: Evan Binder '22
Class 3 Assistant Coach of the Year (state of MO): Buddy Smith
Class 3, District 2 Assistant Coach of the Year: Matt Politte '98 

St. Louis Wrestling Officials Association
Class 3 Team of the Year
All-St. Louis Team: Chase Brock '22, KJ Miley '22, AJ Rallo '23
President’s Award: Evan Binder '22
Ryan Griffin Memorial Scholarship: Caiden Gagliano '22, Chase Brock '22

Season Recaps

Program History



Collegiate Wrestlers

Jeff Knipper ’03, John Carroll University 
Drake Hovis ’04, Cornell University
Dan Tulley ’04, Duke University
Ryan Mango ’09, Stanford University
Jason Ott ’09, Princeton University
Conor Hovis ’10, North Carolina State
Ethan Sherertz ’12, Maryville University
Chris Wilkes ’13, North Carolina State
Will Hahn ’13, Duke University
Derrick Swaney ’14, Maryville University
Rodney Hahn ’14, US Naval Academy
Kurtis Hahn ’16, US Merchant Marine Academy
Dylan Shotwell ’17, Maryville University
Michael McAteer ’18, West Point
Max Darrah ’18, West Point and Maryville University
Zac Russell ’19, Lindenwood University
Connor McAteer ’20, US Merchant Marine Academy
Logan Ferrero ’21, Duke University