Congratulations Class of 2017
Posted 06/01/2017 11:10AM

Whitfield School awarded diplomas to 65 students during the annual commencement ceremony held on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 in the school's Cady Athletic Center. Students received their diplomas from Head of School John Delautre and their medallions from Board of Trustees Chair Karen Myers. The senior class address was given by Jonathan Elkins, class president. The commencement address was given by Kimberly Steward ’99, founder and principal, K Period Media.

Eighty three percent of the class received honorary, merit and/or athletic scholarships totaling $2,031,174.

During the ceremony, awards were presented to the following individuals:

Elizabeth Woods Bradbury ’63 Outstanding Alumni Award   David Ott ’91
Mary Leyhe Burke Award   Ray Van de Riet
Louis Lazarus Award   Phil and Elizabeth Levy

Matriculation Choices for the Class of 2017

Christopher T. Alexander Jr.
  University of Indianapolis
Lyric Alicea
  Lindenwood University
Shakked Yakov Armoza
  Israel Defense Forces
Gabriel Steven Bierschenk
  DePauw University
Gabriella Lucille Boone
  Northwestern University
Madeleine Jane Boone
  Vassar College
Andrea I. Bugyis
  Lafayette College
Caroline Adele Cizek
  University of Utah
Julianna Grace Crang
  Indiana University – Purdue University, Indianapolis
Jordan Milan Crouch
  Shawnee Community College
Catalina Cuevas
  DePaul University
Ella Ada Ann Daniels
  University of Michigan
Alex Brian Dirksen
  Chapman University
Alexander Frank Drier
  Chapman University
Alyssa Christine Ebling
  Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Ryan Thomas Edgar
  University of Dayton
Jonathan Jerome Elkins
  Columbia College Chicago
Sophie Terry Feller
  Trinity University
Simon Ross Gelber
  California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Sabrina Maria Genovese
  Northeastern University
Jack Dylan Gienke    Still Deciding
Emma Mollye Greenberg
  Whitman College
Jared I. Greenberg
  Miami University, Oxford
Christopher Harold Hanson
  Tulane University
Lillian Elizabeth Hawkins
  Royal Holloway, University of London
Aidan Richard Ip
  University of Michigan
Jordan Adrianna Jones
  DePaul University
Richard Jordan
  University of Missouri, Columbia
Tyler Brookes Kurten
  The University of Iowa
Morgan John Leake
  University of Washington
Jessie Reiss Lebens
  Belmont University
Michael Joseph Levy
  Miami University, Oxford
Alexander Matthew Lewis
  Miami University, Oxford
Lauren Annie Mae MacInnis
  Northeastern University
Jamie Elizabeth Masterson
  Drury University
Sara Tayler Mateos
  Reed College
Margaret Stark Maune
  Mississippi State University
Benjamin Rath McGuiness
  Gap Year
Cullen Jeffrey Mertens
  Maryville University
Jonas Mondschein
  Oberlin College of Arts and Sciences
Mahyar Moshiri
  Saint Louis University
Mckenzie Lynn Murphy
  Maryville University
Sadaf Naeem Naushad
  Lake Forest College
Campbell Niemann
  Savannah College of Art and Design
Lucy Diane O'Donnell
  Boston University
Louis David Payne
  Lake Forest College
Alice Rosalind Lane Piper
  Savannah College of Art and Design
Payton Day Rule
  Washington University in St. Louis
Joshua Merrit Sarris
  Washington University in St. Louis
Jessica Danielle Scales
  DePaul University
Amber Elizabeth Schmitt    University of Denver
Samuel William Schueddig
  University of Central Missouri
Joseph Charles Shearburn
  Regis University
Elena Lauren Sherertz
  Middle Tennessee State University
Dylan Shotwell
  Maryville University
Owen Paul Smith
  Gettysburg College
Abigail Lynn Smyth
  Washington University in St. Louis
Kimberly Michelle Strege
  Oxford College of Emory University
Abigail Paige Suffian
  University of Colorado at Boulder
Hannah Marie Surmon
  Rhodes College
Zachary Drew Taylor
  Tufts University
Madison Elizabeth Walsh
  University of Louisville
Harry Welch
  Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach
Mark Wheeler
  University of Redlands
Yiren Zheng
  Virginia Tech


  • © 2007-2015 WHITFIELD School
  • 175 South Mason Road
  • St. Louis, MO 63141
  • T: 314-434 5141

About Us

Whitfield School is an independent, coeducational college preparatory day school for grades 6–12.

Learn More »


Whitfield’s demanding academic program coupled with the support of a dedicated, world class faculty prepares graduates for both the college experience and life beyond.

Learn More »


Students who choose to engage in the arts at Whitfield, whether performing or visual, discover the nearly limitless possibilities for self-expression.

Learn More »


The Warriors have claimed 30 state championships, earning multiple coach and player of the year awards, and sending numerous alumni to play at the collegiate level.

Learn More »

Student Life

Whitfield students are happy, healthy and engaged in their community. Working diligently both in and out of the classroom, they learn both the academic and the interpersonal skills that lead them to success in college and beyond.

Learn More »


Find out what makes Whitfield unique among St. Louis schools.

Learn More »


The culture of philanthropy has always been an essential part of the Whitfield experience. Whitfield is fortunate to have parents, alumni, alumni parents, faculty and staff, trustees, grandparents and special friends who consistently support our school.

Learn More »

powered by finalsite