Model United Nations Culture Banquet
Posted 03/08/2019 05:06PM

Whitfield’s second annual Model United Nations Culture Banquet was held February 27, 2019. The event is designed to celebrate the work of Whitfield’s Model United Nations Club (WMUN).

Under the banner of the United Nations, participating students in grades 9-12 immerse themselves in the politics, cultures, and issues of the 193 member nations. They research, write resolutions, and serve as delegates during club meetings that showcase their ideas to address the world’s problems.

During the banquet, WMUN Club sponsor and Social Studies Department Chair Dr. Adam Attwood shared: “Whitfield’s mission is to cultivate ethical, confident, successful students in a community of innovation, collaboration, and trust. Today, we celebrate the Whitfield Model United Nations Club members who have demonstrated these attributes through their dedication to the field of social studies. They have applied their interests and skills, both inside the classroom and beyond the classroom, in their study of history, government, economics, and geography.”

Senior Kelly Yazdi was one of three students (also Grace Farr ’20 and Kylie Wagner ’20) who shared her perspective on WMUN during the program. “I believe Model UN is an extremely valuable program here at Whitfield,” said Yazdi. “In our increasingly global world, it is so important to learn about different cultures and global issues. Model UN is beneficial no matter what field of study students go into—law, business, politics, engineering, medicine—the list goes on and on.”

Awards and certificates of recognition were distributed during the event. For a complete list, click here. Event photos are published on Whitfield's Facebook page.

Whitfield Model United Nations (WMUN) Leadership Council, 2018-2019
Secretary General: Davide Pace ’20

Council Representatives
Anh Huyen Nguyen ’19 (WMUN Vice President 2017-2018), Lizzie Fagin ’19, Kelly Yazdi ’19, Grace Farr ’20, Tyler Harris ’20, Anya Mehta ’20, Emily Underwood ’20

Nathan Albovias ’21, Jonah Boyer ’20, Mia Dalton ’20, Grace Farr ’20, Mahlet Fentaw ’20, Alec Gau ’21, Zoë Goffe ’21, Liv Hand ’21, Kirsten Hoerman ’21, Max Holton ’20, Marissa Hughes ’20, Ian Koppe ’21, Maddison Kimbrough ’20, Alayah Lipnick ’20, Peter McKown ’20, Davide Pace ’20, Nate Rosenberg ’20, Nina Steinberg ’20, Elijah Sykes ’20, Emily Underwood ’20, Kylie Wagner ’20, Ben Weas ’20, Xingda Chen ’20, Xiaodi (Ade) Yang ’21, Yutiancheng Yang ’20.

  • © 2007-2015 WHITFIELD School
  • 175 South Mason Road
  • St. Louis, MO 63141
  • T: 314-434 5141

About Us

Whitfield School is an independent, coeducational college preparatory day school for grades 6–12.

Learn More »


Whitfield’s demanding academic program coupled with the support of a dedicated, world class faculty prepares graduates for both the college experience and life beyond.

Learn More »


Students who choose to engage in the arts at Whitfield, whether performing or visual, discover the nearly limitless possibilities for self-expression.

Learn More »


The Warriors have claimed 29 state championships, earning multiple coach and player of the year awards, and sending numerous alumni to play at the collegiate level.

Learn More »

Student Life

Whitfield students are happy, healthy and engaged in their community. Working diligently both in and out of the classroom, they learn both the academic and the interpersonal skills that lead them to success in college and beyond.

Learn More »


Find out what makes Whitfield unique among St. Louis schools.

Learn More »


The culture of philanthropy has always been an essential part of the Whitfield experience. Whitfield is fortunate to have parents, alumni, alumni parents, faculty and staff, trustees, grandparents and special friends who consistently support our school.

Learn More »

powered by finalsite